Generating technologies


  • Fossil-fired thermal (breakdown in MW)

    Fossil-fired thermal plants can be found throughout the French regions. Most capacity is in the Hauts-de-France, Pays de la Loire, Grand Est and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur regions, which together are home to around 60% of total fossil-fired thermal capacity. Because they require water for system cooling, these plants are located near water points (e.g. Cordemais on the Loire River).



    Coverage of demand (%) by fossil-fired thermal

    Fossil-fired thermal generation covers more than 40% of demand in Corsica and more than 20% in the Grand Est and Hauts-de-France regions.



    SEI data can be found in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

  • Nuclear power (breakdown in MW)

    Most of the nuclear reactors in France are in the Normandy, Grand Est, Centre-Val de Loire and Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes regions, which are together home to 77% of the nuclear plants in service. Because of their cooling requirements, the plants are located near water points: along the coast (e.g. Paluel and Flamanville, on the English Channel) or waterways (e.g. Tricastin and Cruas on the Rhône). Nuclear generation was unchanged in 2019 (63.1 GW).



    Coverage of demand (%) by nuclear power

    Nuclear generation covers demand in the Centre-Val de Loire nearly four times.



    See additional SEI data in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

  • Hydropower (breakdown in MW)

    With 25.5 GW of installed capacity, hydropower generation in France is divided unevenly across the country.

    Regions with large mountainous areas (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, Occitanie and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur) are home to more than 79% of total French hydropower capacity. Most of the facilities are hydroelectric dams, notably with water reservoirs and poundage. Hydropower generation capacity in other regions is less significant and often relies on run-of-river plants or those with poundage.



    Coverage of demand (%) by hydropower

    Coverage of demand by hydropower generation is highest in the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, where it exceeds 40%.



    Impact of rainfall on hydropower output

    Annual fluctuations in hydropower generation are closely correlated to precipitation. As France saw significantly less rainfall in 2019 than in 2018, hydropower generation declined across all regions except Grand Est.

    SEI data can be found in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

  • Wind power (breakdown in MW)

    Climate conditions (wind regimes), environmental constraints and local political priorities explain the differences between wind power development rates. The two regions that have the most wind capacity installed are Hauts-de-France (4.5 GW) and Grand Est (3.6 GW).  Capacity increased by more than 10% in these regions between 2018 and 2019.



    Coverage of demand (%) by wind power

    Coverage of demand by wind power reached 7.5% in the French regions and exceeded 14% in the Hauts-de-France, Grand Est and Centre-Val de Loire regions.



    Regional density of wind capacity

    Density is a calculation of wind capacity per square kilometre in each region. The Hauts-de-France region has the most installed capacity and the highest density. Occitanie ranks third in terms of capacity but seventh in terms of density, below the national average of 22.4 kW per square kilometre.



    See additional SEI data in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

  • Solar power (breakdown in MW)

    Four regions have more than 1 GW of installed solar capacity: Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Occitanie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. These regions account for more than 73% of installed solar capacity in France, due to their geographic location in the southernmost part of the country, where conditions are favourable for solar power development. The Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region saw the sharpest increase in capacity during the year (more than 19%).



    Coverage of demand (%) by solar power

    Coverage of demand by solar power exceeded 5% in Corsica, Occitanie and Nouvelle-Aquitaine.



    Regional density of solar capacity

    Density is a calculation of installed solar capacity per square kilometre in each region. Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur has the highest density, but ranks third nationally in terms of capacity. Conversely, the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region ranks fourth in terms of capacity but its density is below the national average of 15.3 kW per square kilometre.



    See additional SEI data in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

  • Bioenergy (breakdown by MW)

    Bioenergy plants are found throughout France. The Ile-de-France, Nouvelle-Aquitaine and Provence-Alpes Côte d’Azur regions are each home to more than 14% of the country’s total bioenergy capacity.



    Coverage of demand (%) by bioenergy

    Coverage of demand in the French regions by bioenergy generation is highest in Nouvelle-Aquitaine, where it exceeds 3%.



    See additional SEI data in: Electricity Report for SEI, Corsica and Overseas Territories

Closer look

Better understanding

Filières de production


  • Le parc thermique à combustible fossile (répartition en MW)

    Le parc de production de la filière thermique à combustible fossile se répartit sur l’ensemble des régions françaises. La majorité des puissances est installée dans les régions Hauts-de-France, Pays de la Loire, Grand Est, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur et Ile-de-France. Ces régions représentent environ 60% du parc thermique à combustible fossile. Pour des besoins de refroidissement du système, ces centrales sont situées à proximité d’un point d’eau (ex : Cordemais situé le long de la Loire).

    La production thermique à combustible fossile (taux de couverture en %)

    La production thermique à combustible fossile couvre plus de 40% de la consommation en Corse et plus de 20% dans les régions Grand Est et Hauts-de-France.

  • Le parc nucléaire (répartition en MW)

    La majorité des réacteurs nucléaires est située dans les régions Normandie, Grand-Est, Centre-Val de Loire et Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes. Ils représentent 77% du parc en service. Les centrales nucléaires sont situées, pour des besoins de refroidissement, à proximité de points d’eau : sur le littoral (ex : Paluel ou Flamanville, sur la Manche) ou sur un cours d’eau (ex : Tricastin ou Cruas, le long du Rhône). La capacité de production nucléaire est stable (total de 63,1 GW).

    La production nucléaire (taux de couverture en %)

    La production nucléaire couvre près de 4 fois la consommation dans la région Centre Val-de-Loire.

  • Le parc hydraulique (répartition en MW)

    La production hydraulique, avec une capacité installée de 25,5 GW, est inégalement répartie sur le territoire français.
    Les régions comportant une grande superficie montagneuse (Auvergne Rhône-Alpes, Occitanie et Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur) comptabilisent à elles seules plus de 79% du parc hydraulique français. Ces régions comptent majoritairement des installations de type barrages hydrauliques, en particulier de type lac ou éclusée. Dans les autres régions, les capacités de production hydraulique, moins importantes, utilisent souvent des technologies de type fil de l’eau ou éclusée.

    La production hydraulique (taux de couverture en %)

    Le taux de couverture régional par la production hydraulique est le plus important en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes où il dépasse 40%.

    Effets de la pluviométrie sur la production hydraulique

    Les fluctuations annuelles de la production hydraulique sont fortement liées au niveau des précipitations. Le déficit pluviométrique en 2019 par rapport à 2018 ayant été important, la production hydraulique est en baisse sur toutes les régions excepté la région Grand-Est.

  • Le parc éolien (répartition en MW)

    Les aspects climatiques (les régimes de vent), les contraintes environnementales et la volonté politique au niveau local expliquent le développement régional contrasté de la filière éolienne. Les régions disposant du parc installé le plus important sont les régions Hauts-de-France et Grand Est avec respectivement 4,5 GW et 3,6 GW de capacité éolienne installée. L’augmentation du parc installé par rapport à 2018 est supérieure à 10% dans ces deux régions.

    La production en région (taux de couverture en %)

    Le taux de couverture éolien régional moyen atteint 7,5%. Il dépasse 14% dans les régions Hauts-de-France, Grand Est et Centre-Val de Loire.

    La densité régionale du parc

    La densité permet d’appréhender la puissance installée au km² pour chaque territoire. La région Hauts-de-France, dont le parc installé est le plus important, possède la plus forte densité. Avec le troisième parc installé, la région Occitanie se situe pourtant au septième rang en terme de densité, en dessous de la moyenne nationale qui s’établit à 22,4 kW au km².

  • Le parc solaire (répartition en MW)

    Quatre régions possèdent un parc de production solaire supérieur à 1 GW : Nouvelle-Aquitaine, Occitanie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes et Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur. Ces régions représentent plus de 73% du parc installé français, ce qui s’explique par leur situation géographique. En effet, ces régions se situent dans la partie la plus méridionale de la France et disposent d’une situation favorable pour l’accueil et le développement de la production solaire. La région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes est celle qui connaît la plus forte évolution annuelle, avec une augmentation de plus de 19% de ses capacités installées.

    La production solaire (taux de couverture en %)

    Le taux de couverture solaire régional dépasse 5% dans les régions Corse, Occitanie et Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

    La densité régionale du parc

    La densité permet d’appréhender la puissance installée au km² pour chaque territoire. La région Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur possède le taux le plus important alors que sa capacité se situe au troisième rang national. A l’inverse, la région Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, possédant le quatrième parc le plus important, a une densité en-dessous de la moyenne nationale qui s’établit à 15,3 kW au km².

  • Le parc bioénergies (répartition en MW)

    Le parc de production de la filière bioénergies se répartit sur l’ensemble des régions françaises. Les régions Île-de-France, Nouvelle-Aquitaine et Provence-Alpes Côte d’Azur représentent chacune plus de 14% du parc bioénergies français.

    La production bioénergie (taux de couverture en %)

    Le taux de couverture régional par la production bioénergies est le plus important en Nouvelle-Aquitaine où il dépasse 3%.

 

Voir aussi données SEI : Bilan électrique SEI Corse et Outre-mer

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre