Consumption down slightly for the year


Total electricity demand had been stabilising for several years, thanks to generally improved demand-side management and despite increased use of electric appliances.

Consumption nonetheless declined slightly year-on-year in 2019, due to generally warmer weather early in the year and to economic growth that was not as robust in 2018, falling to its lowest level in ten years.

Closer look

Better understanding

Gross consumption


Gross consumption ended the year at about 474 TWh, down 1% from a year earlier. This slight decrease was driven by generally milder weather in the early months of the year and economic growth that was not as robust as in 2018.

Closer look

Better understanding

Closer look

Better understanding

Why are adjustments made to gross consumption ?

To better identify structural trends

When it is very cold outside, electricity is used for heating. When the weather is very hot, people use power for cooling. To better analyse structural trends from one year to the next, power consumption data is adjusted to strip out “weather effects”. Once this is done, electricity demand corresponds to what would have been consumed if temperatures had been the same as reference temperatures.

Adjustments can be made for other factors as well. For instance, February has an extra day in leap years. To strip out this calendar effect, consumption is adjusted in such a way as to count only 365 days.

 

 

Adjusted consumption


Excluding the energy sector from the calculation, adjusted consumption (adjusted for weather and calendar effects) ended 2019 at 473 TWh, down slightly (-0.5%) from 2018 and broadly in line with the average for the past ten years.

Power demand in France entered a period of relative stability in 2010. The trend reflects a gradual slowing of demand growth observed over several decades: growth rates declined steadily and approached zero in 2010.

This structural slowing of electricity demand growth in France, also observed in most European countries, is chiefly attributable to:

  • More widespread and stronger energy efficiency measures in buildings and for appliance efficiency, allowing the same needs to be met with less electricity;
  • A long-term slowing of economic and demographic growth over several decades;
  • A structural change in economic activity with a shift toward the service industry, knowing that services consume four to five times less electricity than the industrial sector for the same level of production.

Note: To calculate adjusted consumption, it is necessary to exclude the energy sector because the adoption of a new uranium enrichment process in 2012 severely impacted the sector and caused a steep decline in consumption.

Closer look

Better understanding

Temperature trends relative to reference temperatures


2019 was one of the warmest years on record (average temperature 0.5°C above the reference temperature), matching the 2014 level but slightly cooler than 2018.
An analysis of daily data (source: Météo France) nevertheless reveals some contrasting trends:
• Temperatures were 0.3°C below average in January 2019, but rose sharply after that (between 0.6°C and 2.2°C above the average);
• Temperatures were below normal most of the time in May 2019 (-1.1°C);
• June 2019 was the fifth hottest month of June on record since 1900, with temperatures climbing above 46°C in Occitanie;
• Temperatures were also above average for most of the summer of 2019. July saw an exceptional heatwave in the northern half of the country with temperatures exceeding 40°C, making it the fourth hottest month of July since 1900.
• In the latter months of the year, temperatures were also generally above average (+2°C in October and December).
Adjustments are made for these changes in consumption analyses in order to better identify underlying trends.

 

Closer look

éCO2mix: Everything you want to know about electricity in France and your region or city

éCO2mix is an educational tool designed to promote transparency.
Whether you are an ordinary citizen trying to better understand electricity to become a more responsible consumer, a knowledgeable amateur or an energy professional, you can use éCO2mix in a fun or expert manner to monitor power system data at the national, regional or city level. It can also be used to understand your power consumption and get advice on how to reduce it and take simple actions to prevent or reduce the risk of a system imbalance if a power warning is issued.

https://www.rte-france.com/eco2mix

Better understanding

Une consommation en légère baisse


Une tendance à la stabilisation de la consommation totale d’électricité s’observe depuis plusieurs années et traduit globalement une meilleure maîtrise de la consommation malgré une utilisation croissante d’appareils électriques.

En 2019, on note cependant une consommation légèrement en baisse par rapport à 2018 et à son plus bas niveau depuis 10 ans.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Consommation brute


En 2019, la consommation brute s’établit à près de 474 TWh, soit une baisse de 1% par rapport à l’année précédente. Cette légère baisse s’explique par des températures globalement plus douces en début d’année et par une croissance économique moins soutenue qu’en 2018.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Pourquoi corriger la consommation brute ?

Pour mieux observer les évolutions structurelles

Lorsqu’il fait très froid, de l’électricité est consommée pour se chauffer. A l’inverse lorsqu’il fait très chaud, de l’électricité est consommée pour se rafraîchir. Pour mieux observer les évolutions structurelles d’une année à l’autre, la consommation d’électricité est corrigée de « l’aléa météorologique ». La demande d’électricité correspond alors à la demande qui aurait été observée si les températures avaient été les températures de référence.

D’autres éléments peuvent être corrigés. Par exemple, les années bissextiles comportent un jour de plus en février. Pour s’affranchir de cet effet calendaire, la consommation est corrigée de façon à ne compter que 365 jours.

 

 

Consommation corrigée


Hors secteur de l’énergie, la consommation corrigée des aléas climatiques et des effets calendaires atteint 473 TWh, soit un niveau en légère baisse par rapport à 2018 (-0,5%) et relativement stable sur les dix dernières années.

La consommation française d’électricité est entrée dans une phase de relative stabilité depuis 2010. Cette tendance vient d’un ralentissement progressif de la croissance de la demande observé depuis plusieurs décennies : le taux de croissance s’est progressivement réduit pour s’établir à un niveau nul depuis 2010.

Ce ralentissement structurel de la consommation d’électricité en France, constaté également dans la plupart des pays européens, s’explique essentiellement par :

  • une diffusion et un renforcement des actions d’efficacité énergétique au sein des bâtiments et sur les performances des équipements générant une baisse de consommation pour satisfaire le même besoin ;
  • un ralentissement tendanciel de la croissance économique et de la croissance démographique depuis plusieurs décennies ;
  • l’évolution structurelle de l’activité économique qui tend à se tertiariser, les services étant de quatre à cinq fois moins consommateurs d’électricité que le secteur industriel à niveau de production équivalent.

A noter : l’étude de la consommation corrigée nécessite d’exclure du périmètre le secteur de l’énergie, ce dernier étant fortement impacté en 2012 par le changement de procédé d’enrichissement de l’uranium, entraînant une forte réduction de consommation.

Focus

Pour mieux comprendre

Evolution de la température par rapport à la température de référence


L’année 2019 s’établit comme l’une des années les plus chaudes enregistrées (+0,5°C par rapport à la température moyenne de référence) équivalente à l’année 2014 mais légèrement inférieure à l’année 2018.

Des contrastes sont cependant observés en zoomant sur l’analyse journalière (source : Météo France) :

  • L’année 2019 a débuté avec une température légèrement inférieure à la normale de -0,3°C pour le mois de janvier, suivi d’une température beaucoup plus élevée (supérieure à la normale de +0,6 à +2,2°C) ;
  • Le mois de mai 2019 a le plus souvent obtenu des températures inférieures aux normales (de -1,1°C) ;
  • Le mois de juin 2019 se classe au 5ème rang des mois de juin les plus chauds depuis 1900 avec des températures de plus de 46°C en Occitanie ;
  • Les températures de l’été 2019 ont elles aussi été le plus souvent supérieures aux normales avec un mois de juillet marqué par une canicule exceptionnelle sur la moitié nord du pays avec des température dépassant les 40°C classant ce mois au 4ème rang des mois de juillet les plus chauds depuis 1900.
  • Les températures des derniers mois de l’année ont été aussi le plus souvent supérieures aux normales (supérieures à la normale de +2°C pour les mois d’octobre et de décembre).

La consommation est corrigée de ces variations ce qui permet d’observer plus finement les évolutions structurelles.

 

Focus

éCO2mix, tout savoir de l’électricité en France, dans votre région ou votre métropole

éCO2mix est une application pédagogique au service de la transparence.
Que vous soyez un simple citoyen désirant comprendre l’électricité pour mieux la consommer, un amateur éclairé ou un professionnel de l’énergie, éCO2mix permet, de façon ludique ou experte, de suivre les données du système électrique à la maille du pays, des régions et des métropoles, de comprendre sa consommation électrique, d’avoir des conseils pour la réduire et d’agir efficacement en cas d’alerte sur le réseau électrique en appliquant des gestes simples pour éviter ou réduire le risque de déséquilibre du réseau électrique.

https://www.rte-france.com/eco2mix

Pour mieux comprendre